Launcher issues.

Moderator: Littlabit

Post Reply
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

I still cant get my launcher to work. I've tried the bypass launcher thing, that wont work. I tried restarting my router, that didn't work. I tried deleting launcher logs, that didnt work. I dunno what to do.

Elfi
Cavman
Whee!
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:47 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Cavman »

Mine is working fine, have you tried the validation tool on the launcher? I do recall when I logged in earlier that the launcher did a small update before it started, did yours do this too?
Image
:grr: A coward dies a thousand deaths, A true soldier dies but once!! :grr:
Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 2208
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Derdarr »

Windows xp?
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

From my post on Derdarr's Update post:

Anyone else unable to get the dumb launcher to work? I'm getting (1-0) error and prior to that, a windows box is popping up saying LaunchPad.exe- Entry Point not found....then blow that, "The procedure entry point K32GetProcessImageFileNameA could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNAL32.dll."

So irritating....idiot game!! I tried using the audio triggers program to bypass, but I need the launcher to do the game update. UGH!


Elfi
Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 2208
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Derdarr »

See above question
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

Sorry, thought I put yes window's XP.

Eli
User avatar
Tandt
Fallen Jedi
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Usually staring at corpse, waiting on a res

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Tandt »

Elfinia wrote:Sorry, thought I put yes window's XP.

Eli

wow.. You really need to upgrade your OS... Do you even have the slightest idea of the security vulnerabilities your are putting your self at running that old of a OS ?
Image
Tandt Dmight
115 Warrior
:rr:
Its not big hair, Its my Helmet!

Boss mobs dont kill people, Clerics kill people!!
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

I'm not uberly tech savy with computers. So I have always been afraid to upgrade my OS. I use Norton, its kept me safe for years, I guess....

Elfi
Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 2208
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Derdarr »

Maybe a bug/change not on purpose but, win 7 is now listed as min required os.
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

EQ worked last night until I finally logged out 12:30am. I usually have a little trouble on patch days with the launcher, but it resolves itself.

Elfi
User avatar
Tandt
Fallen Jedi
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Usually staring at corpse, waiting on a res

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Tandt »

There was a patch to the patcher today.. It may not resolve its self.
Image
Tandt Dmight
115 Warrior
:rr:
Its not big hair, Its my Helmet!

Boss mobs dont kill people, Clerics kill people!!
Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 2208
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Derdarr »

Developer environment change means it's calling processes that win xp n Vista don't understand. Is my layman's interpretation of the new bug/problem
User avatar
Tandt
Fallen Jedi
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Usually staring at corpse, waiting on a res

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Tandt »

All unfixed issues in XP, Just from a quick google search.
https://www.cvedetails.com/vulnerabilit ... ws-Xp.html
Image
Tandt Dmight
115 Warrior
:rr:
Its not big hair, Its my Helmet!

Boss mobs dont kill people, Clerics kill people!!
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

Okay. :( Guess I'm screwed from playing for a bit. :/

Elfi
Fnord
Whee!
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Fnord »

Have to assume it was at least partially unintentional given their lack of announcement. Support page with min requirements was only updated on Friday. Further reading makes me think it was a change to launchpad, not EQ game itself causing the problem. That said, we'll see if they throw out a patch to resolve this or not.
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

I can't find where to DL a new launcher, if they even have a page for that.

Elfi.
Derdarr
Whee!
Posts: 2208
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:17 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Derdarr »

cant lauch patcher getting K32GetProcessImageFileNameA cant find it in a dynamics links KERNELL32.DLL
this using window XP”

We are currently looking into this issue. Thanks for letting us know
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

Thanks Derdarr.

Elfi
Jaia
Whee!
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Jaia »

Elf. .here is the fix for you. I copied over the 39 changed files from my Win 7 machine to my XP machine

The fix is listed in full here...

https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq/ind ... 841/page-4

There is a link to the files here...


https://mega.nz/#!A1gQiTLA!XfJABdNOA4wB ... fmjJXCxW3M

Warning.. I did not use the link as I do not download files from people I dont know... but no one posted issues with it so probably okay.

Now.. to login you have to use the method that does not use launchpad... ... as in make a shortcut to launch EQ from the eqgame.exe and tell it patchme. Make sure you point it to your Everquest directory for startin as well.

Hope this helps you!
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

So I got the files on my desktop, now where do I put them? Ugh I feel so dumb. :(

Elfi
User avatar
Meso
Whee!
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Meso »

you missed a helluva raid
Ommina
Whee!
Posts: 4067
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:26 pm
Location: ömniöüs

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Ommina »

Elfinia wrote:So I got the files on my desktop, now where do I put them? Ugh I feel so dumb. :(

Elfi
No. The people who should be feeling really silly right now are those that put in a windows 7 dependency into the launchpad, then shipped it out, forcing people to jump through these hoops just to play the game.

And the files will, presumably, go directly into your EQ folder. If some or all of the files already exist, overwrite them.
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

Working with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak, I doubt the files are gonna work. Even patchme I get 1017 error saying to re run the patcher because it cant reach the EQ server. So looking like I need a new machine. I have a really old machine, built in 06: MD Athlom 64X2dual....Core Processor4200+....2.21GHz, 2.00 GB of Ram GFORCE 7800 vid card.

Elfi
Jaia
Whee!
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Jaia »

The workaround worked for me Elfinia.... there are 39 files to patch, they all have to go into the right sub-directories. Are you launching without the launchpad using the eqgame.exe?

Tandt discussed how to do this in this thread...https://www.celestialnavigators.org/vie ... f=9&t=9642
Elfinia
Whee!
Posts: 577
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Elfinia »

I think they have something that detects what OS you have? I dunno, I tried the patch me with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak. I sent you a PM on here...

Elfi
Goofydoofy
Ride a cowboy, save a horse
Posts: 5939
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Rapid City, SD, USA

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Goofydoofy »

Elfinia wrote:Working with Hortonn and Gince in Teamspeak, I doubt the files are gonna work. Even patchme I get 1017 error saying to re run the patcher because it cant reach the EQ server. So looking like I need a new machine. I have a really old machine, built in 06: MD Athlom 64X2dual....Core Processor4200+....2.21GHz, 2.00 GB of Ram GFORCE 7800 vid card.

Elfi
If your computer was built in 06 and you don't know much about computers so you can fix it when the motherboard or video card or power supply go out, you best just buy a new one now. You are overdue for hardware failure anyway. Get ahead of it while you can.
Level 115 Druid, Level 115 Enchanter, Level 115 Paladin
Drinal - Maelin Starpyre Server
Jaia
Whee!
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Jaia »

Bah Goofy.. I am running on one computer that I built in 2005... its not the issue. Their software does not detect OS versions.. they just got lazy and did not do the launchpad compile with the backward compatible fix.
Goofydoofy
Ride a cowboy, save a horse
Posts: 5939
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Rapid City, SD, USA

Re: Launcher issues.

Post by Goofydoofy »

Jaia wrote:Bah Goofy.. I am running on one computer that I built in 2005... its not the issue. Their software does not detect OS versions.. they just got lazy and did not do the launchpad compile with the backward compatible fix.
I'm not saying it is the issue. I'm saying it will be an issue before long, however.
Level 115 Druid, Level 115 Enchanter, Level 115 Paladin
Drinal - Maelin Starpyre Server
Post Reply